ROTI BOY

I know some people who say “How can I cook here? Can not find any good ingredients in this country”. I say “BS”, though I will (try to) not say it out loud.

I believe that if you don’t cook in Angola, you won’t cook even if you’re in Paris surrounded by the best ingredients available. But I also believe that having appropriate means to cook does boost your likeliness to cook. Like having a new silicone mold or new piping nozzles, or owning a NEW BREAD MACHINE!!!!

I used to HATE making dough, they always stick, no matter what the recipe says. Not now… ‘coz I have my machine ^_^

So when I had this craving for Roti Boy (coffee cream glazed buns), I googled the recipe, tried it, tweaked it, re-teweaked it  and  and voila I had my Roti Boy.

Ingredients for the dough (in this order for Bread Machine)

  • 4 tbs vegetable oil
  • 2 eggs + milk (make it until 400 ml)
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 8 tbs sugar
  • 650 gram high protein flour (bread flour)
  • 4 tsp instant yeast

Filling (optional)
160 gram (refrigerated) salted butter, divided into 20 cubes.

Topping

  • 75 g unsalted butter
  • 100 g icing sugar
  • 2 tbs instant coffee
  • 1 egg
  • 75 g all purpose flour
  • 20 g powdered milk

HOW TO

  • Take 60 g of the dough, fill with 8 g of butter, make a round bun
  • One recipe will make 19-20 buns
  • Let them rest for 45 minutes (until double the size)
  • To make the topping, mix butter, sugar, instant coffee ’till soft, then add egg, mix ’till smooth then add flour and powdered milk.
  • Pipe topping, circling, covering 2/3 of the rested buns.
  • Bake 180C for 13 minutes

It’s best to enjoy the buns fresh from the oven. To reheat them, just put them in oven (180C) for 5-7 minutes.

Note:
This recipe is already revised (for the better) from its original posting.

 

Add to FaceBookAdd to Twitter

Tagged , ,

6 thoughts on “ROTI BOY

  1. sherly says:

    ahhhh, i like this english version better. Cos now I know what’s high protein flour vs low protein. I usually call them by T55 (all purp flour) or T65 (cake flour). Btw, powdered milk.. as in kid’s formula milk? are they sweet? I’m thinking of switching with cocoa powder, but the bread will be brown, huh? 🙂

    • Me says:

      I used canned Bella Hollandesa, as this recipe does call for any sugar, I think you better stick to powdered milk, at least for your first trial. I had mixed comments on the sweetness aspect, my husband LOVED this no sugar version, some did say that they’d prefer with more sugar.

      Planning to do a second batch soon, will definitely update this recipe if any tweaks required.

    • Me says:

      Sherly,

      Please refer to the newer post on “The Mystery of Flour” for easy reference of flour types.

    • Wina says:

      I just updated the recipe. Trust me, this one is GOOD!!!!….

  2. […] the success of Roti Boy, this cocky head of mine thought that I finally had conquered the world of bakery… that I had […]

  3. […] I was at 2.30 AM googling recipes, then it hit me. That was why my Roti Boy was more successful than the following two. I had used different types of flour. For my Roti Boy I […]

Leave a Reply

