Beef Floss Buns (Bread Talk – Wannabe)

Still on the mission to conquer the bakery world, the other day I attempted to re-create the famous Beef Floss Buns from home. I had a pack of beef floss, all the ingredients needed to make buns, a bread machine, so what’s stopping me? The recipe of course!

Then I googled (again) the recipe and came across what seemed like a good bun recipe and clear mayonnaise recipe.

First, I made the bun (with the help of my lovely machine), I put the ingredients in this order

  • 300 mL water
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbs salt
  • 8 tbs granulated sugar
  • 60 g unsalted butter
  • 600 g cake flour
  • 20 g powdered milk
  • 1 pack (10 g) dry instant yeast
  • Once the dough ready, divide the dough into 60g portion
  • Shape the dough into oblong shape and put them on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper, leave to prove for 45 minutes-1 hour.
  • Brush with egg wash (mixture of egg+milk) and bake on the middle of the oven at 190C for 12-15 minutes.

While the buns were in the oven (no double meaning implied here), I prepared the mayo.

Ingredient

  • 100g  fine sugar
  • 5g salt
  • 50g butter
  • 450 mL water

Ingredient B

  • 50g fine Sugar
  • 50g corn Starch
  • 200 mL water
  • Combine Ingredient A into a big bowl and bring to cook over low heat. Make sure that stiring is done and that sugar and butter gets completely melted.
  • When mixture A starts to boil, combine Ingredient B into mixture A and continue to cook over low heat. The mixture will starts to thicken and get transparent in color. Allow cooling before using the mayonnaise.

Then apply the mayo on top of the cooled buns, put (generously) beef floss on top.

My verdict on this recipe;

  • the dough was a bit sticky, but I could still handle it (so it’s okay)
  • one recipe of the mayo yields a sauce pan of mayo (as you can see in the picture). Next time, I think 1/3 will do. Though I asked the recipe owner that in the fridge, it may last up to 1 month.
  • the buns were not as airy as I would imagine (then my “Baking Guru” told me to never compare home made buns with commercial ones, as God knows what they put in there, so I was a bit consoled)

Will I make them again? Absolutely!!
Add to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to Twitter

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

