The Mystery of Flour

There I was at 2.30 AM googling recipes, then it hit me. That was why my Roti Boy was more successful than the following two. I had used different types of flour. For my Roti Boy I used bread flour and I used cake flour for the others.

Then I thought, “How different could it be?”.

I looked to my left and my husband was a sleep, so I could not ask him.  Not that he could answer my question even if he were awake, but it’s just nicer had he been awake then I could make it more of a rhetorical question thing than talking to myself thing. So I went back to Google (it was almost 3 AM).

When I type “Types of flour with its gluten content”, I had more than 4 millions hits. Bet I am not the only person awake in wee hours wondering about flours. I had expert pages (and was clueless of what they’re saying) and I had simple ones. After reading some listed on Google’s first page (that’s what we all do, right?), I made below conclusions;

  • Flour types/standards are different in different countries
  • The range of flour is limitless
  • Most of the info is irrelevant to my current needs

So, I came up with below list, for few reasons;

  • Flours sold here are either marked with Cake Flour/Bread Flour or in T system.
  • The weight per cup thingy is a cool trick, incase I’m in doubt (which is quite often). And if you’re wondering how difference does it make between sifted and non-sifted flour? The answer is A LOT. According to this website, the sifted one can weigh less by 20% – 25%.
  • I (so far only) bake cakes, white bread, piecrust and pizza dough

Sometimes

Referred As

% Gluten*

French Flour**

Weight per Cup of

Sifted Flour*

Commonly Used For*

Cake Flour

Low Gluten

7.5 – 9

3.5 oz

99gr

Cakes

Pastry Flour

9 – 10

T 45

> 3.5 oz

101gr

Biscuits, muffins, cookies, pie-dough

All Purpose Flour

~12

T 55

4.5 oz

125gr

Can be used for a whole range of baking

Bread Flour

High Gluten

13 – 14

T 65

5 oz

140gr

Breads and rolls, pizza-dough

So, if you want to have a simple no hassle reference, you’re more than welcome to use this one.

Note: Individual picture of the collage above is taken from each official website.

*   http://culinaryarts.about.com/od/bakingdesserts/p/wheatflour.htm

** http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flour

Add to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to Twitter

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “The Mystery of Flour

  1. […] Most of the time I cook dishes with “discounted” ingredients, yet I think they’re okay. If I wait until I have my hands on every single spice mentioned on the recipe, then my husband and daughter will be super skinny people by now. Please note that I am talking about non-baking dishes. In baking I follow the recipe to the letter. Otherwise, why would I want to stay up late doing research on flours? […]

Leave a Reply

