Lemon-Glazed Madeleines

Two years ago when I received sets of silicone molding from my French neighbor as a gift, never in a million years I thought I would ever use them.


I cooked then, but baking was never my forte (it still is not). There’s something about baking that freaked me out. I don’t know if it’s the precision, the fine motor skills required I never knew I had or the patience that I know for sure I am lacking.

Then later this year, my friends started to introduce me to baking. Few things I noticed; it’s intricate yet doable, some might turn out messy (they totally don’t look like the pictures on cookbooks) yet still tasty. Net, net, I could give it a shot. A note to myself though, follow the recipe TO THE LETTER (I am yelling to me). When they say beat, beat. When they say fold, fold. No cutting corners.

After trying to conquer the land of bread making, now I am into cake & pastry. Yesterday as I was opening few cookbooks to pick up ideas for my next ventures, suddenly my mind went to this never been used silicone cookie molds that my neighbor gave me. Then one word hit me, Madeleines.

You either love them or hate them. Some people might go gaga over them. Some might say they’re just tiny sponge cakes, so?  I tried them, and I found them nice especially with coffee and few good friends. But then again when you have coffee and good friends with you, the rest is just icing on the cake.

So there I was, on a Sunday afternoon googling for Madeleines. I had my basic recipe from David Lebovitz’s book The Sweet Life in Paris (had a friend made them before, so I was pretty confident with the recipe), yet just like any other person these days I still had the need to do a bit of research ensuring that I was good. Then voila, I came across Dori’s blog on tips for “bumpy” Madeleines.

Few hours and back-and-forth-trip-from-the-fridge-to-the-oven later, I had my Madeleines, my soft, (a hint of lemon) fragrant Madeleines. My daughter gulped 2 of them, and it’s pretty amazing for someone who’s not a sweet tooth. I liked them, but I just brushed one side with the lemon glaze as I find dipping both sides is a bit too sweet for my taste

Do I dare yet to bring them over to any of my French neighbors’ coffee? No.

Do I dare to make them again? Hell yeah…..

For the Madeleines

  • 135 gr unsalted butter, melted and cooled to room temperature (please additional melted butter for preparing the molds)
  • 3 large eggs
  • 2/3 cup granulated sugar
  • rounded 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1 1/4 cups flour (I use cake flour)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • grated zest of 1 lemon

For the Lemon Glaze (mix together)

  • 1 tbs powdered sugar (the real recipe call for 3/4 cup)
  • 2 tbs lemon juice (the real recipe call for 1 tbs lemon juice + 2 tbs water)

How To ( I used silicone molding)

  • Put a baking sheet in the oven and preheat the oven 200 C and the baking sheet.
  • With electric mixer, whip eggs, sugar and salt for 5 minutes, until frothy and thickened
  • Spoon the flower and baking powder and using a spatula, fold in the flour
  • Add lemon zest to the cool butter, then dribble the butter into the batter while simultaneously folding it
  • Press a piece of plastic wrap against the surface of the batter and refrigerate it for 1 hour
  • Prepare molds. Using two teaspoons, plop an amount of batter in the center of each indentation
  • Take out the chilled batter, spoon the batter into the prepared molds and refrigerate the filled molds for 1 hour
  • Bake the madeleines on the very hot baking sheet for 10 – 13 minutes
  • Remove the madeleines from the oven and take them out of the molds. Once they’re cool enough to handle, brush one side with lemon glaze (you can do both sides of preferred).

Add to FaceBook

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

