Fried Mashed Banana (a.k.a Godog Godog)

“How many ways of serving bananas (other than eating them raw) that you know?”

I posted this question few weeks ago on my Facebook. I needed to get ideas of banana dishes as I had 7 banana (it’s 6 now) trees fruiting (is that even a word?). I even jokingly said probably I should get myself a pet monkey.  That was before I heard a story from an older resident about a (wild) monkey that used to live in this compound, but then the guards captured and ate it.

Image

Of course I knew the basic banana recipes; banana cake, banana (and chocolate chip) muffin, banana ice cream & fried banana. Still, I figured with the kind of supply that I had, more ideas were welcome.

Finally today, we chopped one bunch and unfortunately we were a week too late. Then my Mom told me this recipe called (in our mother tongue) Godog Godog. It’s basically fried mashed banana.

 

Ingredients

  • 10 over-riped bananas
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 3 tbs sugar
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 egg
  • cooking oil for frying
  • 1/4 cup powder sugar (optional)

How To

  • Mash all bananas, then add sugar and salt
  • Add egg and flour, folding it using wooden spoon until all mixed well
  • Prepare a wok with cooking oil, set the stove medium heat
  • With a spoon, take a spoonful of the mixture and fry it in hot oil until golden brown

 

  • Serve with powder sugar

 

Tips

  • This is not (by all mean) a type of gourmet food, so have fun with it and It’s okay if your mash is lumpy.
  • You can substitute powder sugar with basically anything (maple syrup, chocolate syrup, grated cheese, condensed milk), or you can omit it all together.
Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Fried Mashed Banana (a.k.a Godog Godog)

  1. […] gardener just cut another bunch of banana yesterday. We had had enough of fried banana, godog-godog and banana bread. Then my mother suggested that we made traditional banana chips. Not only we […]

Leave a Reply

