CHINESE FARM – ZANGO

Gong Xin Chai…. Gong Xin Chai….

I kept on chanting those words making sure that when I finally got to the Chinese Farm I could utter them. Gon Xin Chai is chinese for water spinach or dearly known as KangKung in my mother tounge.

This 10 cent/bunch veggie (back home) did not exist in Luanda. Or when (in super rare) occasion that they did (after a secret mission to Sao Paulo), I needed to pull all my guts cleaning them as I might have to get (really) up close and personal with caterpillars still attaching themselves to the leaves.

Ready with 2 cars, 2 local drivers, 5 passengers, 1 phone number, vague memory of the location from Google Map and lots of guts and determination (ANYTHING FOR KANGKUNG!!!!), finally we went ahead to the unknown land called Zango.

The trip from Talatona to Zango was pretty smooth (the fact that it was AM and the traffic was going to the opposite direction). There were lots of “Oooh” and “Aaah” along the way looking at the fast pace construction on both sides of the express way. From the main road, we could eye the new city of Kilamba that (to me) looked like mainland HongKong with its strips of apartments with different heights and color hiding behind the green trees.

I first heard of this Chinese Farm from a friend that then shared a post about it in  LBW Blog.  Finally now (a year later), I  decided to take the journey the unknown. I had the phone number of a person that worked there and spoke English, and what was clear to me was it’s right after Zango  4 (Zango quatro) and once we got there I should ask my driver to call him so he could further explain.

Like said, getting to Zango was no problemo, it’s basically just taking the express route (passing the new 11 Novembro Stadium – on your left) until we reached big apartment blocks and turned right to Zango. We passed Zango 0, Zango 1, Zango 2, Zango 3 and finally Zango 4 (how did we know you may ask, we stopped and asked). Then, our adventure began.

So, we pulled over and made the call to know exactly where we’d be going next. The guy on the phone said “After Zango 4, you’ll see a board with 4 Chinese letters, then just turn right”. The thing was, there were many boards with Chinese letters there, so we just followed our guts. The dirt road then  lead us to super dirt road and we were sandwiched by big Chinese trucks carrying…. more dirt. Out of safety reason (the floating dirt made it really hard to see beyond 2 meters ahead), I told my driver that it’s NOT the right path and ordered him to turn around. After we made more phone calls (and asked every single soul around) finally we reached the farm.

So, this is how;

  • After Zango 4, you’ll see the board with 4 Chinese letters (see picture – the one in red paint). Turn right.
  • Keep straight until the road split into 3.
  • The left one goes slightly down and filled with trash, DON’T take that one.
  • The middle one (the biggest one) goes slightly down and makes you feel like it should be the road to take. DON’T take that one
  • The right one goes slightly uphill, smaller and does not look like the one you should take. TAKE that one.
  • Then you’ll go through a bumpy (like you’re riding a horse) road, fits only one car. Don’t worry, it’s the right path.
  • Then the road got bumpier and you can see nothing but mango trees on the sides and you feel like you should go back. Don’t worry, you’re on the right path.
  • Just keep going and fight the urge to go back. Just hang in there.
  • Then you’ll start seeing cactus trees (sort of almost scratching your paint job), don’t worry, you’re almost there.
  • Then you’ll see a big red painted metal gate (you can already take a peek of lines of veggies inside).
  • You’re there!

This is the price list per kilo (as of few days ago)

  • Celery KZ 1000
  • Bean sprout KZ 300
  • Long string bean KZ 400
  • Green bean KZ 600
  • Spinach KZ 1500
  • Chili KZ 400
  • Egg plant KZ 250
  • Water spinach KZ 250
  • Water melon KZ 300


Finally… I had my caterpillar-free KangKung….. ^_^

Chinese Farm
Contact: Wilson 935 631 112

WARNING!
It is a farm and (I think) they use cow dung as fertilizer, might take few minutes for your nose to tolerate the smell.

Tagged , ,

9 thoughts on “CHINESE FARM – ZANGO

  1. Tom Gowans says:

    Thank you very much for this, I shall be on my way over there next week.

    I just need to persuade them to plant leeks and water cress as well!

    This is such a nice and informative site, well written and lovely photos.

    If you happen to know of an Asian chef who wants a job at weekends at a new restaurant at the Barra de Kwanza, please let me know, I would be very interested and grateful, I really need someone good and would give them a share of the restaurant profits as well as a salary.

    • Wina says:

      Thanks Tom for your comment. I believe they have more veggies, the price list was only based on the things that I purchased. I am afraid I don’t know anyone available at the moment, but definitely looking forward to going to your new hotel & restaurant. I might write a review on it….

  2. Tom Gowans says:

    I will just have to go there and see for myself. I would not have known it existed if it had not been for you so thanks again.

    It will be at least two months before I can even think about opening. I went there yesterday to get the team going with the building and the brand new 40Kva generator I had delivered down there so the guys had power has already been stolen.

    It is really hard here sometimes.

    The restaurant is a 14 metre x 14 metre thatched Jango with seperate kitchen and seperate barbeque area, So I could do a typicqal churrasqueiro offering barbecue meat and fish but I really want to do Asian cuisine. To start with I am building six cotttages all with en-suite bathrooms for people to stay in. Although I am right on the river and close to the beach, I will put in a swimming pool next to the jango as well as a kiddies playpark so parents can eat and drink and their kids can have fun.

    We would only be open Friday night, Saturday and Sunday so if you hear through the grapevine of someone suitable who wants a weekend job, with accommodation, then pleeeeze let me know!

    • Frank Sinartio says:

      Hi Tom, are your cottages ready by now? thank you, Frank Sinartio

      • Tom Gowans says:

        Frank, at the rate they are going, it’ll be another three months! The carpenters have only just turned up but they seem to be working hard.

        The very high tides have done a bit of damage (all but destoying the place next door) so I will concentrate on rebuilding the shop and our house on a nearby bit of land I own and then finishing off the restaurant and bar so I can open. Then I will build the remaining land up before building the cottages.

        At the moment we are living in what will be the restaurant kitchen!

        If you happen to be in the Barra de Kwanza area, drop by. I might not be able to feed you but at least I can give you a cold beer and you can see the project for yourself. To find my place is easy. As you approach the Kwanza bridge from the direction of Luanda, turn right before the bridge, just opposite the new petrol station, and follow that road until the end. Ask for Donna Marcia’s Cantina!

        You can always keep up with progress by following my blog: http://hippo-on-the-lawn.blogspot.com/

        I still need a decent Asian chef. Marcia is now talking about bringing one in from Portugal but, let’s face it, Portuguese cooking is nothing out of the ordinary here! Let’s face it, it isn’t anything special anywhere…

        But I still have a long way to go. There is a lot of timber that still needs to be planed and shaped before being nailed together.

        Regards

        Tom

    • Indira Alexandra says:

      Winnie this is great stuff! Hi t.here Tom are you still looking for some one I have the perfect person very hard working young man

      • Tom Gowans says:

        Indira,

        Yes, I am still looking for someone.

        My build is going terribly slowly but we are making progress. It would be good to identify someone suitable now as he would then be able to decide what kit he needs in his kitchen (basically, I would show him the empty kitchen and he can design it).

        Please email me: tomgowans(at)flordita(dot)com, and thanks for getting in touch!

  3. Tom Gowans says:

    Indira! I still seriously need a decent Chef!

  4. Karool de Desu says:

    Finally someone writing positive things about my vountry. Ignoring all the bad. Thanks Wina

Leave a Reply

