Pasta Nera with Shrimps and Herbs

“Just stick to the list”, said my husband as I was walking through all the isles in the supermarket.
“What list?”, I replied.

Here in good old Luanda, you don’t have shopping lists, you buy what you can get. When eggs are extinct, you don’t bake, you make fruit dessert. When eggs are around, you buy gazillions of them so next time they’re gone, you can still bake. We already live “frugal” even before the whole world can spell the word. That’s why most companies equip us with freezers the size of two coffins.

Yesterday, I found packed Pasta Nera (simply put, black spaghetti) and I bought five packets. If you’ve been following this blog, you’ll know by now that we’re not Italians and we’re moving (for good) in a month, but I just can’t get rid of this frugality within me.  So we had Pasta Nera with Shrimps and Herbs.


How To:

  • Boil pasta till al dente
  • Prepare sauce by sautéing (in olive oil) garlic, chopped onion, and peeled-deveined shrimps. Add anise seed, basil, chopped parsley, salt and chili (if liked).
  • Mix the pasta with the sauce
  • Enjoy

Note:
Picture was processed with lomo-ish look.

Add to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to StumbleUponAdd to Twitter

Tagged ,

5 thoughts on “Pasta Nera with Shrimps and Herbs

  1. Tom Gowans says:

    You are moving for good? In a month? Does that mean you are leaving Angola?

  2. Wina says:

    Yes Sir…. Been 4 years here, time to move on…

  3. Tom Gowans says:

    I only came here for a six month contract, that was nearly twenty years ago!

    Well, wherever you are off to, I hope it goes well!

    Pity Indira never came back to me about the chef she hinted at on one of her comments on your blog. I was all excited for a while.

  4. Ruth says:

    Oooo, what makes the pasta black? I have some japenese udon style noodles that are black, but it’s from black rice. I don’t think that’s what you have here, though 🙂

    • Wina says:

      Hi there Ruth. Traditionally this is made by adding ink squid to the normal pasta, but now pasta infused with ink squid are sold everywhere in packs and that’s what I used. That’s why it’s good with seafood as the pasta has a hint of fishiness in them.

      I am not sure about black udon though, but it’s very possible that they come from black (glutinous) rice.

Leave a Reply

